Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2024
Reputation:
0
Hello sir,
Please I have purchased a Kincony Server 16 (Rasberry Pi4 IoT gateway) and set it up with Home Assistant. I want to connect an energy meter via the RS485 modbus serial port of the Kincony Server 16 so that I can monitor the meter values on my Home Assistant Dashboard. How do I go about this? I have checked your YouTube website and the only video concerning an energy meter was setup with ESPHome but this server does not have an ESP device so I want to be able to do this without ESP.
Posts: 6,236
Threads: 803
Joined: Oct 2020
Reputation:
151
do you using KinCony RS485 energy meter? if YES, you can integrate by modbus.
actually it's same code, just you modify the configure.yaml for home assistant.
Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2024
Reputation:
0
07-18-2024, 09:34 AM
(This post was last modified: 07-18-2024, 09:45 AM by Setornam.)
# I have put my comments next to the parameters I need clarity on.
My main issue is the PIN numbers and the esphome references.
I need clarity on its server 16 equivalent. Thank you.
# yaml details below
esphome: # This shouldn't be ESPHome right?
name: a8s # This should be the server 16 board right?
platform: ESP32 # This should be raspberry pi?
board: esp32dev # Kindly advice on the board name?
wifi:
ssid: "KinCony"
password: "a12345678"
captive_portal:
uart:
id: mod_bus # Can this be the same?
tx_pin: 33 # Should this be the same since its not an ESP32 or 14
rx_pin: 32 # # Should this be the same since its not an ESP32 or 15
baud_rate: 9600 # No comment
stop_bits: 1 # No comment
parity: EVEN # No comment
modbus:
id: modbus1
uart_id: mod_bus
modbus_controller:
- id: a8s
address: 0x01
modbus_id: modbus1
setup_priority: -10
update_interval: 5s
sensor:
- platform: modbus_controller
modbus_controller_id: a8s
name: "Voltage"
id: modbus_voltage
register_type: holding
address: 0x64
unit_of_measurement: "V"
value_type: FP32
accuracy_decimals: 2
Posts: 6,236
Threads: 803
Joined: Oct 2020
Reputation:
151
id: mod_bus # Can this be the same? Yes
tx_pin: 33 # Should this be the same since its not an ESP32 or 14
rx_pin: 32 # # Should this be the same since its not an ESP32 or 15
just set rx,tx pin with KinCony Server16 board's RS485 rx, tx pin define.